San Bernardino Tragedy – A Prayer

Francis weeping“Once I said:  ‘In the noontime of life I must depart!  To gates of the nether world I shall be consigned for the rest of my years’…

Like a swallow I utter shrill cries; I moan like a dove.  My eyes grow weak gazing heavenward; O Lord, I am in straits; be my surety!…

What I am to say or tell him?  He has done it!  I shall go on through all my years despite the bitterness of my soul.  Those live whom the Lord protects; yours…the life of my spirit.  You have given me health and life; thus is my bitterness transformed into peace.

You have preserved my life from the pit of destruction. When you cast behind your back all my sins.”  (Isaiah: 38: 10a, 14, 15-17)

Another senseless massacre, more innocent lives lost, more victims suffering from wounds received.  It is easy to give in to the anger, and the fear.  It easy to strike out at the groups we identify with the threat, even though a majority of them are innocent, law-abiding citizens. It is easy to agree with those pundits and politicians, who will soon be calling for expulsions, and closing of places of worship.

The challenge is to remain faithful to the ideals that founded this country, that has drawn so many people, so many refugees to its shores.

And finally,  we cannot give into despair, but draw on that faith in God, that he will still sustain us during these uncertain times.

“For if we believe that Jesus died and rose, so too will God, through Jesus, bring with him those who have fallen asleep.” (1 Thess 4: 14)

 

 

2 thoughts on “San Bernardino Tragedy – A Prayer

  1. Thank you my dear Brother. We cannot by pass or overlook the pain, the sorrow and the destruction of innocent lives. We must hold fast to the TRUTH of our God whose whole life portrayed Divine Love. His example our guideline. God grant all believers in these troubled days His Strength to Stand passionately and unflinchingly for this LOVE for all the people of the world. Even the forces of darkness that would seek to destroy and demolish. Beauty, holiness seen through His Eyes our Vision. Please keep blogging.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Living On Gingham Lane and commented:
    Let us pray for the victims and their families in the San Bernardino tragedy. Let us pray for ourselves too, for comfort as we grieve for so many innocent lives lost and for hope and faith to move forward from loss and weariness to renewal and enlightenment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

